Goalball Welcome banner

DSC00276webBesides hosting the deaf boys’ basketball tournament, VSDB is also hosting the goalball tournament.  Goalball is a sport for blind people.  It’s played in a gymnasium.  Three people are on each team guarding their goal which runs the width of the gym at each end.  Someone from the opposing team rolls the ball bowling-style and tries to get it into the net on the other side of the gym.  The team defending the goal lunges their bodies on the floor to try and block the ball from going in.  Then it’s their turn to try to get the ball into the other net.

scarlet goalball

The players all wear black blindfolds so no one has an advantage if they have some vision.  There’s a bell inside the ball that they listen for to know where the ball is.  The gym is completely silent until a goal is scored; then you’re allowed to cheer.  It’s very cool!

Anyway, I made a welcome banner for the hospitality room.  I used the blindfold from My Scrap Chick’s Sleepover Bears set and Khmer Bold font for the letters.  I used Icing Sugar Candi to make braille letters to attach to each letter, using the Braille Latin font I have on my computer for reference.

DSC00277web

DSC00278webDSC00279webDSC00280web

I used eyelets to reinforce the holes through which I laced twine from Close to My Heart to hang it.   I like the way it came out!

Next year, we’re hosting the girls’ basketball tournament and the volleyball tournament!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Goalball Welcome banner

  1. Donna M says:

    That is so nice to see it in Braille too. My stepson is legally blind I wish this was done in my area

  2. gramjak says:

    Wonderful welcoming banner and I love the description of the game. Fabulous creativity, as always!!!

  3. Cely (Carolina Girl) says:

    This is pretty cool! The game itself, I’ve never heard of and sounds awesome for the kids to play. Very nice how you are always so willing and waiting to share your talents with others.

Leave a Reply

