Cut it Up Dr. Seuss-inspired challenge

CIU challenge blogDr. Seuss’ birthday was March 2nd.  We at the Cut it Up Challenge Blog are celebrating by making Seuss-inspired projects!

What does that mean?

You don’t have to include an image from a Dr. Seuss book; rather you should make a project inspired by one of his books.  You could include a fish for One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish; or you could include an elephant like in Horton Hatches the Egg.

I chose to include a cat on my project, inspired by The Cat in the Hat.  Mine is no fancy cat with a hat, it’s just an ordinary (albeit adorable) kitten!

My daughter has always wanted a cat.  My husband and I not “cat people,” so we always told her when she got her own apartment, she could have one.  Well I don’t think she was in her apartment more than a few months when she adopted Isa.  They became fast friends.  That was in 2002 and Isa still lives with her today!

P1050740web2

The Friends frame was a freebie from Denise’s Scrapbooking Room, which closed in December.  The little girl is from the Playtime Cricut cartridge, and the embossing folder is Heart Blocks by Cuttlebug.  The date stamp (lower right-hand corner) is a Close to My Heart stamp from the Capture the Date stamp set.  The font for “A girl and her” is Adorable, and I think I used Lucida Calligraphy for “cat.”

Head on over to Cut it Up Challenges to see what the new design team has cooked up for their first challenge!  Then link up your own Seuss-inspired project for a chance to win this Dr. Seuss Wacky Scrapbook kit:

Dr. SeussDon’t forget to include a die cut!

Good luck!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cut it Up Dr. Seuss-inspired challenge

  1. gramjak says:

    Wonderful photos and story abut our daughter’s cat, Isa! Love the LO display and your creativity, as always!

  2. gramjak says:

    should be Your daughter’s cat! LOL (but I’ld adopt her!)

  3. Migdalia says:

    Wonderful photos! and Such a SWEET LO! say hello to ISA for me…lol..I had a cat that looks like her I called her mimi.I am so HAPPY to be in this AMAZING Team! Thank You!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia

  4. Such great photos!!! Such a sweet little kitty. ♥

  5. Cely(Carolina Girl) says:

    I’ve taken more interest in seeing someone’s scrapbook pages now that I am finally working on them. We are not cat people either anymore…just the puppies. My son moves into an apartment his sophomore year this coming August and we have told him NO pets. Your daughter was very patient waiting to get a cat…good for her! I really like your layout. It provides for more pictures and fun grouping together like you did.

  6. Evelyn, what a fantastic LO. Love the pussy cat!

  7. Karen says:

    Adorable layout! Love all the photos and the little girl cut is so cute! 🙂

    Karen
    craftedwithlovebykaren.blogspot.com

  8. Great Layout!! I love the colors and how sweet she is with her kitty!! 🙂 Thanks for taking charge of the Cut It Up Team!! You will do a wonderful job!! 🙂

  9. Kim McNair says:

    Nice layout, I love the little girl cutout! Great job!

  10. CraftyMrs says:

    There’s a special bond between a girl and her cat that’s for sure! Cute LO! Glad to be on the team with you 🙂

  11. Tami says:

    Love your kitty layout. Super cute.

Leave a Reply

