Cut it Up Pinterest Inspired challenge

CIU challenge blog

Challenge #13 at Cut it Up Challenges is to create a paper project that was inspired by something we saw on Pinterest, or was inspired by a fellow crafter.  I’ll be needed to make lots of masculine cards to send to my son, who will be deploying to Afghanistan this spring, so that’s what I went searching for.

Some of the projects had sailboats, but he’s not into sailing.  Some had golf, but again, that’s not something he does.  But several had this diamond embossing pattern, which I happen to have and never used!!   Here is one example of the diamond embossing.

So that became my inspiration for the background.  I embossed it on metallic paper so it would look like a toolbox, or something found on a workbench.

Cool gears and cogs were on several cards, too, as in this example.

They were another cool, masculine element, so I decided to incorporate some of those as well.  This is what I came up with:

P1050687webI got these cool gears at The Free SVG Blog!

P1050692web

prizeYou’ll be playing this week for this prize.

What inspires you?  We’d like to see a project that was inspired by something you saw on another crafter’s blog, or on Pinterest!  Don’t forget to link back to theirs to give credit where credit is due, and don’t forget to use a die cut!!

See you over at Cut it Up Challenge Blog!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cut it Up Pinterest Inspired challenge

  1. Cely(Carolina Girl) says:

    Great card and I took look for masculine cards which I don’t do enough of. I’m forever getting inspired by other’ bloggers creation and casing…I always give a link back to them. This would be an easy challenge for me…haha. I’m teaching today so perhaps I could join the challenge tomorrow. Ps. I’m nuts about gears and tools and have many gears and tools and collected cool embossing folders and papers for an occasion. I wish your son the best and pray for his safety and thank him for protecting us. I will always remember my brother going to Vietnam Nam in 1968 for 2 years. Have a wonderful weekend.

  2. Stacey says:

    This is such a great masculine card! Those types of cards are always so hard for me! Yours looks fabulous!!!

  3. Migdalia says:

    Oh!I love this card!!I have never seened this embossing folder.So perfect for a masculine card!
    Have a Fabulous Weekend,
    Migdalia

  4. This is an awesome card!! I love the gears, what a really fun idea!!

  5. Esther says:

    I Evelyn, great masculine card!!!
    Thanks for visiting my blog! You asked where I got my stamp, you can purchase it here:
    http://www.franticstamper.com/Penny-Black–Slapsticks–Cling-Stamp–Never-Stop-Dancing_p_70935.html

  6. Karen says:

    Great guy card! I love that embossing! 🙂

    Karen
    craftedwithlovebykaren.blogspot.com

  7. Such a wicked card. The silver embossing really makes the gears pop.

Leave a Reply

