Valentines – a little late! (or early?)

I was cleaning and straightening my craft room today and came across remnants of two failed Valentines that I tried to make.  They were center step cards that I cut on my cricut without having checked the pressure settings.   The cuts didn’t go all the way through the card stock, and it was such NICE paper, a beautiful, deep, rich red, that I had been saving because it was so pretty.  So I tried to cut it with regular scissors, and I cut around the perimeter of the card just fine, but those two side cuts didn’t work out so well — jagged, uneven, not straight . . .  Needless to say, I was furious and left it on my desk unfinished.

Well, today dawned clear and bright, and I was cleaning my craft room, and all the pressure was off because this Valentine’s Day is past, so I picked it up again.  I got out the little paper cutter that came free with my Your Story laminator, straightened out the cuts, and put the cards together.  I even used some leftover cuts I had in my stash: hearts from who-knows-where and this fancy double heart from Paper Crafting World.

P1050727webP1050728web

P1050729web

P1050730webRather than thinking of these Valentines as a little late for this year, I prefer to think of them as way ahead for next year!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Valentines – a little late! (or early?)

  1. Cely (Carolina Girl) says:

    Gosh….One would think you are talking about me and my craft disasters. The worse thing is ruining beautiful paper like you mentioned. One time I went out to get the exact papers I wanted, chopped them all up not getting the “effect” I wanted and never being able to use the papers for anything. This is a rarity, but it has happened. Just the other day I was just finishing an image using copics and a hugh ink drop fell on the image. I had spent a 1/2 hour working on it. I did salvage but had to rethink my sketch. Like your thinking….you are already ahead for next year…haha

  2. Migdalia says:

    I have not yet cleaned my desk.It has all of Valentine’s Decor…lol Super Cute card!

  3. Melin says:

    Super cute card Evelyn! Thank you so much for using a file from PCW. I responded to your email. I like the idea of being WAAAYYY ahead for next year versus behind for this year 🙂 Always a much better perspective 🙂 Take care!

Leave a Reply

