25 Days of Christmas and Year ‘Round Crafting – Day 8

205488_392877390781169_2121219017_nChristmas lights and candles light up the 8th day of My Paper Crafting’s 25 Days of Christmas and Year ‘Round Crafting showcase!  It’s also the first day of Hanukkah.  Here’s a cute, funny story about my project.  I signed up to make a Circut project rather than an svg project this time, and I need Hanukkah cards to give to three of my co-workers.  There is a beautiful menorah on Joys of the Season, so that’s what I planned to use.  But before I got a chance to make them, Larelyn, one of my design team sisters, beat me to the punch and made a gorgeous Hanukkah card using the exact same cut.  So, I had to go back to the drawing board.

I decided to put my candles INSIDE a project, so I made the 3D church from my new Winter Woodland cartridge:

P1050266P1050269I cut the four pieces needed, but I wanted to put an electric candle inside the church and have its light shine out the windows.  The inner layer is solid with no windows, so I traced the windows from the outer layer onto the inner layer and cut them out by hand.  I did the same thing with the window on the steeple.

P1050261I taped vellum onto the inside of the outer layer.

P1050262I used a square punch to make a hole in the roof so the light could also shine through the steeple window.   When I glued/taped the steeple together, It didn’t fit perfectly; there was a gap, so I covered it with ribbon.

P1050264

P1050274

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think it turned out great!

Here are the free files offered today at My Paper Crafting:

68344_381521181916790_6014919_n155591_381521031916805_294105627_n (1)

Happy Hanukkah, everybody!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 25 Days of Christmas and Year ‘Round Crafting – Day 8

  1. Sandy says:

    Fabulous job on your church!

  2. Cely (Carolina Girl) says:

    Just amazing how each day you come up with awesome cards and/or projects. The church is gorgeous!

  3. Migdalia says:

    WOW!!!Absolutely GORGEOUS!!

  4. Patty says:

    Wow…you put a lot of work into that church and it’s super cute!! Great job!

  5. Lynn C. says:

    I loved your church project. The candle really makes this church. Love it..

  6. Gail Scott says:

    Great idea! I have this cart ride and I might give it at Try – thanks for sharing!

  7. Hello – Terrific church! – as well as your other projects! I haven’t written each day to everyone, although I’ve quickly peeked at everyone’s projects daily and am thoroughly impressed with our Design Team’s creativity! Thank You for sharing! ;-} (- back to my own projects!)
    Lynden
    http://aneleganttouch-lynden.blogspot.com
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/An-Elegant-Touch-/162889457132788

Leave a Reply

