Cut it Up 3D Any Holiday challenge

I love making explosion boxes!  They’re so much fun, and so unexpected.  I love to see people’s faces when they open the boxes to find that it’s an album!  On Cut it Up Challenge blog, we were challenged to make a 3D project for any holiday.  Of course, I chose Christmas because it’s right around the corner.

I used lots of pretty paper and left most of the pages plain so there would be plenty of room for pictures and journaling, but I did use several cuts to decorate this album.

Here is a peek inside:

This is the kind of explosion box that does not call for cutting off the corners of the outside layer.  It’s the first one of this kind that I have made.  I like having the extra “pages!”

Here are some closeups of some inside pages:

Lots of cuts from various places –

penguin – Lettering Delights Christmas Express

Christmas Ornaments – My Scrap Chick

Christmas Chocolate – SVGcuts

poinsettias – CutFiles.net

I can’t for the life of me remember where the Santa or the candy cane are from — sorry!! (Edit – just figured out the candy cane – from Treasure Box Designs Freebie Xmas Mouse)

My Scrap Chick, Paper Crafting World, Lettering Delights . . .

Now it’s your turn to link your holiday 3D projects at Cut it Up Challenges for a chance to win this prize:

Don’t forget to use a die cut!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cut it Up 3D Any Holiday challenge

  1. Migdalia says:

    WOW!!Evelyn!!This is STUNNING!AMAZING!and FABULOUS!!

  2. gramjak says:

    You know how much I LOVE explosion boxes, too — and this one is SPECTACULAR, Evelyn! I’d love the directions for making it with the extra pages!!

    Your paper choices and cuts are beautifully done! Great creativity, as always…

  3. This is beautiful. I love the explosion box idea & your paper choices are beautiful! Cut images!

  4. Stacey says:

    What a pretty box! I love the papers you used and that little journal spot is so fun!

  5. Brenda Rose says:

    Explosion boxes are so nice and the paper you’ve chosen is lovely!

  6. Jennifer says:

    This is gorgeous and so much eye candy to look at!! Love it–I really want to make an explosion box one day!! Fantastic job!

    Jen
    http://scrapinexpecttheunexpected.blogspot.com/

  7. Janis says:

    I love boxes like this. I haven’t’ made one in quite a while. You’ve inspired me to make one again soon. 🙂 Janis

  8. Kimberly says:

    This is so fun! i have never made one of these but I love yours! Great details and choice of colors and papers!! Great job!! 🙂

  9. Karen says:

    Very cute box! I love all the details you added! I really like all the papers you used too! 🙂

    Karen
    craftedwithlovebykaren.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

