Cut it Up Button Day challenge!

Did you know there’s such a thing as Button Day!?!?  I didn’t, but I’m kind of glad there is one.  My mother used to have this huge button box.  It was about 15 inches long and about 6 or 7 inches high and wide.  Inside were Eight O’Clock coffee cans just filled with buttons.  Did you ever run your hands through piles and piles of buttons?  They felt so cold and smooth.  We loved to look through them and ask where they came from.  One of my aunts worked in a clothing factory or string factory (I forget which) in Paterson, New Jersey.  We got some buttons from her.  There were Navy buttons in the collection, lots of brown buttons, and lots of white buttons with little lines engraved in them.  Buttons were removed from any clothes that weren’t good enough to hand down to the next child and added to the button box.  Mommy sorted them by color.  Such fond button memories . . .  So, Button Day challenge over at Cut it Up Challenge Blog!  YAY!

I used buttons for the center of my dogwood flowers on an altered composition book I made for a co-worker.  I stock up every year when Staples has their back-to-school sales.  The two cut files – the dogwood branch and the Celeste Butterfly Fairy are both from Paper Crafting World.  The paper is from the DCWV Nana’s Nursery paper pack.

Inside the buttons is a little pearl:

I also added one flower to decorate the back of the book:

So now we want to see your button projects!  This challenge ends November 28th at noon, EST.  Link your project at Cut it Up Challenge Blog!  Hope to see yours there!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cut it Up Button Day challenge!

  1. Cely(Carolina Girl) says:

    haha…love your comment you left about making a scene on my card….haha I LOVE this cover. You have mastered the eyes for sure and those are both wonderful flies that I need to go check out. Nice to see a little dogwood bloom to remind us Spring will be here soon. I’m not a winter person so I soon skip that season…haha

  2. Nicole says:

    this is gorgeous Evelyn!! your little fairy is so adorable and the buttons work perfectly with the flowers 🙂

  3. Stacey says:

    Evelyn, what a pretty little composition book this is! I love the little fairy and the dogwood and the added touch of the pearls inside the buttons!

  4. Kimberly says:

    Great altered notebook Evelyn! I love the button with the pearls and the pretty glitter!!
    Kimberly

  5. Beth says:

    I love the buttons with the pearls and the little fairy is adorable. My favorite part though is definitely the buttons, they are so very pretty!

  6. Migdalia says:

    OMG!!WoW!!This is Adorbale!Very Sweet! I am in love with this!

  7. Janis says:

    Very, very pretty! Love her face. 🙂 Janis DT sister

  8. Brenda Rose says:

    Very, very pretty!! She is adorable!!

  9. I love this image. The fairy, patterned paper and flowers with buttons. Such a beautiful creation. Hard to pick a favorite thing on it!

  10. Karen says:

    This is so cute! I love how you added the flower on the back of the book too! 🙂

    Karen
    craftedwithlovebykaren.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

