Altered Notebook challenge

It was my turn to pick the theme this week for Paper Crafting World’s challenge.  Since I always like to start each new school year with a new composition book for taking notes in meetings, I decided on altered notebooks.  Melin had the perfect file for my purposes.  This Back to School Bear is all set for a new year – nice sharp pencil, apple for the teacher (or supervisor!)

I like using composition books for altering.  You can use 12 x 12 paper or 8.5 x 11.  I use my ATG gun and run a strip of tape right next to the black binding and as close to the top, bottom, and side as I can get, then a few strips vertically and horizontally.  I carefully place the left edge of the paper along the binding, then just press it down.  I just cut off the paper that hangs over the edge with scissors.  Very easy!  A sanding block (borrowed from my husband’s work bench) takes care of little nibs of paper that stick out along the cut edge.

This paper is from Close to My Heart.  It’s from the Typeset paper pack.  The alphabet down the side gives it a little extra interest and really goes with my school theme, as does the graph paper background.  I used the leftover strip to cover a soup can to hold my pencils and pens.  The font for “meeting notes” is Stage, and for “Evelyn,” I used Windsong.  I fattened it up a bit by using Shadow so it didn’t rip when I took it off the mat.

If you haven’t seen the other design team members’ altered notebooks or journals at Paper Crafting World, you should go take a look.  You can really alter a journal or notebook in so many different ways and styles to perfectly match your or the recipient’s personality.   We’d love to see how you alter a notebook.  You can link up your project at PCW!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Altered Notebook challenge

  1. teela says:

    what a cute lilttle bear! He must be beary smart going to school! teelayoung@hotmail.com

  2. Jen says:

    Too cute! Love that little bear!

  3. Cute bear. There’s no linky at the challenge for the Altered Notebook.
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”

  4. Evelyn says:

    Thanks, Melissa. I just let Melin know.
    Evelyn

  5. sherrye says:

    so cut …I love this may have to try it for the 1st grade i volunteer for. TFS

Leave a Reply

