Fly High! challenge

Did you know that August 19th is National Aviation Day?  According to Wikipedia, FDR established the holiday in 1939 to celebrate the development of aviation technology.  It’s Orville Wright’s birthday.

To celebrate, the Paper Crafting World design team members are making projects having to do with aviation.   Melin created this cutting file set for us to play with.  Lucky I have an aviator in the family!

New Jersey had some great air shows that we used to go to.  One was at McGuire/Fort Dix and the other at Lakehurst.  It was thrilling to watch all the planes, jets and helicopters go through their paces.  I guess we really started early:

Heather was just two years old here, and Mike wasn’t even one!

Here is my project.  It’s a scrapbook page with a photo of Michael sitting in a military jet:

I used the bear in the flight suit from the new Aviator cut file set.   He’s about 5.5 inches.

Mike went on to take flying lessons starting at around age 12.  He opted to have one – two hours of flying lessons in lieu of a week of summer camp.  Here he is by the Cessna airplane.  He had to sit on telephone books in order to see out the window!

After he graduated college, got a job, and could pay for lessons himself, he earned his private pilot’s license.  He later joined the Marines and earned his pilot’s wings last summer.  He continued his training and this past spring became a Cobra helicopter pilot for the Marines.

I took this challenge literally, but there are lots of other ideas for you to make your project and enter our challenge, like congratulations or encouragement cards.  Why don’t you give it a try and link up your project at Paper Crafting World?  Check out what the other designers did with the challenge!

 

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fly High! challenge

  1. What great pages are beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Gramjak says:

    What a fabulous LO memory of Michael at the tender age of two with his dream beginning!
    Cute photo of Heather & Michael in strollers — gosh! How the years fly!

    Love the aviator bear! Hope you have a super day, Evelyn. Thanks for brightening my day by sharing this story of your family with us! Wonderful memories!

  3. lynden1408 says:

    Lovely layout, Evelyn! – I love the ‘backstories’ on blog entries, too! ;-}
    Lynden
    http://aneleganttouch-lynden.blogspot.com
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/An-Elegant-Touch-/162889457132788

  4. love your layout but I especially love your Aviator Bear. I have a distinct love for characters and punchies!! I’ll be back to view your continued work 🙂

Leave a Reply

