Hispanic Heritage Month challenge

The designers at Paper Crafting World are celebrating Hispanic Heritage month with a challenge.  I needed to search Google for a project idea.  One children’s site suggested making a self-portrait, like Frida Kahlo did.  She  was a Mexican artist who made lots of self-portraits.  She had polio as a child and later was in a terrible car accident.  I first heard of her on a BrainPop movie.  I wanted to link to that, but it turns out that movie is not free 😦 so I linked to the Wikipedia article instead.  Anyway, I decided to re-create one of her self-portraits, “Roots”, instead of making one of myself.  Here is the one I copied:

I used four files from Paper Crafting World.  The body is from Celeste Butterfly; the hair is from Tori QT Patootie; the dress is from Bride and Groom QT Patootie, and the vines are from Fan Flower.   Her eyebrows are parentheses.  The orientation is correct — she’s lying on her side.  Here’s mine:

For the background, I started with a piece of card stock cut to fit inside the frame that I had.  I went to my stash of scraps and placed about a 2 inch strip of a blue on top for the sky, about a 3 inch strip of brown for the middle and a strip of tan for the rest.  Then I tore small pieces of blue papers, brown papers and tan papers and glued them on their respective bases.  It looked like this:

I wanted some of the vines to spill over the frame, so I was careful where I placed Frida.  I’m very pleased with this project.  I think I’m going to hang it on my craft room wall.

Now it’s your turn to make something for our Hispanic Heritage challenge.  There are some great ideas over at Paper Crafting World to inspire you!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hispanic Heritage Month challenge

  1. lynden1408 says:

    Sooooo Clever! You’re quite the Artist, too! ;-}

  2. shesasassylady says:

    What a great project. Love it. TFS

  3. gramjak says:

    This is absolutely outstanding ART, my friend! I really, really LIKE it. Great job!!!!!

Leave a Reply

