All About Parents challenge

Parents’ Day was July 22nd this year.  Designers from Paper Crafting World are showcasing projects that celebrate parents.

I decided to make two note cards.  You might know that I send monthly notes to one of my aunts and one of my cousins.  These note cards are for them!

The first card here at Pagemaps was my inspiration for these cards.  I used the Heart Blocks Cuttlebug folder and the butterfly came from PCW’s Baby Set 1.

It’s a window card!  Here is how I made it:

First, I created a 8.5 x 5.5 inch rectangle using the Sure Cuts A Lot shape library, then positioned the half-circle from that library on top of the rectangle where I wanted it.  I highlighted both shapes and clicked Path, Exclude.  This gave me the opening in my card.

Next, I imported my butterfly and, before I ungrouped the file, I moved it over the opening in my card and sized it so the base (largest piece) overlapped the opening.

I ungrouped the file and moved all the other pieces out of the way.

Then I selected just the card and the butterfly on it, clicked Path, Union.

I copied and pasted this card and set if way to the left of the virtual mat so I could cut a mat layer for the front of my card.

After everything was cut out, I trimmed 1/8 inch from all four sides of the mat, then ran it through the cuttlebug, assembled and adhered the butterfly.  Here’s a closeup:

Now it’s your turn to show us your parent projects.  Link them up over at Paper Crafting World!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All About Parents challenge

  1. What a great little window card. Window cards are my favorite and this is wonderful TFS.

  2. Oh, Evelyn, This is Darling! I saw it the other night on my iPhone and was excited to learn another thing to do with Cricut/SCAL and this is the first chance I’ve had to get here on my laptop and Comment! I do appreciate your well-done tutorial and I look forward to trying the technique Soon! I appreciated your Comment on my blog, too – Good Idea to ‘print the meanings of the representations’ on my Parents page! I’ll incorporate those in what I put in the envelope!! ;-]
    Lynden
    http://aneleganttouch-lynden.blogspot.com
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/An-Elegant-Touch-/162889457132788

Leave a Reply

