What was this again??

Scrapping decades-old photos has its challenges.  What was the name of that play?  Who is this person?  Where was this picture taken?  What event was this?  You think you’ll remember, but then ten years pass and it all becomes a blur.

The back of the photos are clearly labeled March, 1999.  I know they were taken at Mary Baldwin College, and I recognize my daughter as the subject.  So I assume this was some event that occurred during Heather’s Junior Dad’s Weekend and make a page.  Then I start thinking.  I know Heather’s college graduation was one year apart from Mike’s high school graduation.  Hmmm, a year before, or a year after??  Quick call to Heather.  When did you graduate MBC?  2002.  Okay, then you weren’t a junior in 1999?  (This is where those math skills came in.)  Uh, no.

Take a quick phone-picture of the photos and send to Heather.  What event was this?        I don’t remember, either.  But clearly, it wasn’t Junior Dad’s Weekend.

Alright . . . Luckily I had extra scrapbook paper that matched exactly and some that coordinated very nicely.  Snip here, tape there, and voila!  It almost looks purposeful:

I found the photos of the actual Junior Dad’s Weekend in the 2000 envelope and made a coordinating page:

So the lesson to be learned is if you can’t scrap your photos right away, then document, document, document!!

The font used here is Lobster Two Bold, cut with Sure Cuts A Lot.  The paper is mostly K&Company.

Thought you might like to see how I scrapped some of the same photos for Heather’s album.  I made this page soon after the event happened.  The purple line is a beaded string I made that matches her beautiful dress:

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What was this again??

  1. Such beautiful pages thank you so much for sharing with us.

  2. Jayne says:

    Know what you mean; I’ve been looking at photos from my dad’s family and I have NO clue as to who the people are.

Leave a Reply

