Happy Birthday, Jennifer!

Yesterday was our Design Team Coordinator, Jennifer’s, birthday.  To celebrate, the designers from both teams — CookingWithCricut and PaperCraftingWorld — are having a Happy Birthday Jen Blog Hop!  The hop is two days long to give each of us a chance to wish her the happiest of birthdays.  You should have arrived here from Court’s blog, Court’s Craft Corner.  If not, please head on back to the beginning, Cooking With Cricut, so you don’t miss a thing!  (If you leave a comment at Cooking With Cricut, you have a chance to win some great blog candy!)

I’ve only “met” Jennifer through Facebook, working on this design team, but her personality really shines through, and I would love to have her as an in person friend!  She is kind-hearted, generous, funny, and so hard-working.  Jennifer lives in Florida and loves the Florida Gators, who are a sports team there.  My project is a birthday card for her featuring some icons of Florida:


In Sure Cuts A Lot 2, I started with a map of Florida from a free font called Ding Maps.  After sizing it to about 5 inches, I copied  it and welded it to a 12 x 5.5 inch rectangle.  I cut an orange 12 inch card stock in half and taped it together on the short side, then trimmed it down to 15 inches and put it on my mat.  (I work almost exclusively with the 12 x 24 size mat.) The cute flamingo is from Paper Crafting World, called Flamingo Celebrates.  The flag is clip art downloaded from the Internet.

I covered the taped seam on the inside of the card with this cute, Happy Birthday digi stamp from Paper Crafting World:

The vibrant colors make a great match for my card.  I rounded all the corners and my card was finished!

Your next stop on Jennifer’s Birthday Blog Hop is the enormously-talented Kemma from Kemma’s Cards.

Jen is the last on our blog line up.  She’s awesome, so be sure to hop through and wish her a happy birthday!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Happy Birthday, Jennifer!

  1. Melin says:

    Oh my goodness Evelyn! This is PERFECT! I love that you used the little flamingo as part of your design! What a clever way to hide the mechanics and extend your card! Thank you so much for being such a HUGE part of our team!
    -Melin

  2. Michelle R says:

    This is great Evelyn! I had NO idea you could do so much with the SCAL2. I think you really captured Florida and it’s elements!! The flamingo is too cute!! What a perfect card!

    Hugs,
    Michelle

  3. Charlotte says:

    Evelyn, This is such a wonderful card for Jen. I love that you actually have the state of Florida on the card. The flamingo is so adorable, great happy birthday digi too.
    Charlotte

  4. Hattie says:

    Adorable (and clever) shaped card!! Love the gator flag!

  5. Felicia says:

    This card is absolutely adorable. Love that Flamingo cut. Sooooo ca-ute. Smooches…

  6. What a fabulous card!! It’s perfect!

  7. Jen says:

    WOW! Evelyn, this card is AMAZING!!! I love the colors (of course!) and that you included so many Florida favorites, too. And how stinkin’ cute is that flamingo!!! Thanks for helping me celebrate my birthday!

  8. bunga says:

    Wonderful and great card for birthday

  9. JoAnn B. says:

    Great card. I live in Florida also, but am not much of a sports fan, although I do know about the Gators.

  10. larelyn says:

    Wow! Evelyn, you really rocked this card. It has all the things important to Jen. The flamingo is just the cutest thing (yay, Melin) and I love the way you laid everything out. Great card.
    Hugs,
    Larelyn

  11. Xochitl says:

    great card, that is such a cute flamingo. Jen is going to LOVE IT!

  12. What a fabulous idea using the map of Florida (font) for Jen’s card!!! So bright and love the addition of the flamingo!!!

  13. Jill says:

    Evelyn, what a great card! I love the flamingo! Smiles, Jill

  14. Love the flamingo and all the bright colors.

  15. maida says:

    What a funny & whimsical flamingo.

  16. hensil2 says:

    Great card!! LOVE the state of Florida and the flag!!

  17. Kris Dietz says:

    Great card!!! Love how you combined all the different elements! TFS.

    Kris
    dietzrobles at yahoo dot com

  18. Becky Litz says:

    that is cool that you did a cut of the state! and I just love that flamingo, she is so funny!

Leave a Reply

