Lace and Bows and Ruffles, Oh My!

The theme for Day 5 of PCW/CWC’s blogaversary is lace, bows or ruffles.

My original thought was to make a baby girl card with a ruffle on the crib, and so I went to Walmart, bought some pretty ribbon, got out the old needle and thread, and ruffled a bit of it.  I made a baby girl card with a crib (two actually) and placed the ruffle on it.  It didn’t look quite right, so I had to fiddle around with the placement.  Still didn’t look right, so I took off the ruffle and added some bows.  It looked bad, so the bows came off, too.  The cards are adorable (I’ll show you them another day) but they’re not feminine enough for a bow or a ruffle.  Back to the drawing board . . .

I looked through my files and found Kelly from Kelly and Keegan.  Although she’s shown as an Irish lass in a kelly green dress with buckles on her tap shoes, she would have a completely different look in another color.  And her dress has ruffles.  This is what I came up with:

This kind of card is called a Diamond Fold card.  It’s easy to do if you have some kind of scoring board.  I use the Scor-it.  Just Google “diamond fold” card and you’ll find directions for making it.  I like to make the center image larger than the card, because the space there is only about 3 inches.  I cut Kelly at 5.25 inches for this card, and omitted the buckles on her shoes.  I placed the ruffle I had made on her dress, and it looks perfect there!  The paper is from the Dotty for You pack from Close to My Heart, and the tag is cut from the Art Philosophy cartridge, also available from Close to My Heart.

Trying to find a sentiment was tough.  I Googled “ruffles” and “bows” and couldn’t find any good sayings, so instead, since she’s walking, I used “You Go, Girl!”  To get the printing on my tag, I made a text box the size I needed in Microsoft word and printed out the phrase.  Then I lightly taped my tag to the paper over where the words had printed and printed again.

Cooking With Cricut/Paper Crafting World has a couple freebies for you today.  Why don’t you head on over and get them?

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lace and Bows and Ruffles, Oh My!

  1. JustYolie says:

    Evelyn!! You are on a CREATIVE roll!!! I love it!!!

  2. Olivia says:

    What a lovely card. Great touch with the ruffle…got to try that one! Olivia-CWC DT..ps have you done a tutorial on your photo taking cause I LOVE the way your card photos come out.

  3. Claudia Gassett says:

    Love the saying on the card…You GO Girl! One of my favorites! Perfect card!

  4. Love how you used the little Irish bear. So cute and love the diamond fold card.

  5. Michelle R says:

    I’ve never made a diamond fold card and it looks great! This is awesome!

    Hugs,
    Michelle

  6. alvina says:

    Wow Evely!!! Your are very talented!!! Thanks for sharing this beautiful card.

  7. Super sweet!!! I have never done a card like this, but have wanted to for quite sometime. Love the ruffle on the dress.

  8. Sweet. Especially like the ruffle on the dress.
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”

  9. Mama Hen says:

    OMGosh! THIS is ADORABLE!!!! I LOVE THE RUFFLE!!! So cute!!! http://www.scrappingmamahen.blogspot.com

  10. love the ruffled dress and her boots. never seen this shaped card before.

  11. One of my favorites! I love the design of this card! The bear is super sweet and the ruffle on the dress is the perfect touch!!

  12. alicecarman says:

    What a darling card! I love your ribbon trim on the dress. Good ideas!

Leave a Reply

