Principals’ Day 2012

Our school recently celebrated Principals’ Day.  I used my Cricut to cut out white tags, then made holes in the tops using my Bind It All.  (If you do this, remember to make the holes for binding the cards before you give them to the students.  Last year I didn’t, and had to find a different way to bind the book because their messages went to the very edge of the cards.  Lesson learned!)

Every student in both departments (Deaf Department and Blind Department) got a tag to make a card for our principal, from the pre-school students on up to the graduating seniors.  When I got them all back, I made a keepsake book.  Here’s the front:

and the back:

I used the Gypsy to get all the right sizes, weld tags together for the base, and flip the walking boy and girl for the back of the book.  The images are from Autumn Celebrations, which has a nice tag feature and some great images.  The school colors for the Deaf Department are black and red, and the Blind Department’s colors are blue and white, so I mixed them altogether!

Here’s a look at some of the inside pages, just a few so I don’t bore you to death.

The students’ artistic abilities vary greatly, and I assembled the pages randomly.  Some pages are sophisticated, some just have a cute drawing, some have letters to the principal.  It’s a simple project that he cherishes!

For the card, I used Locker Talk for the compass (our principal is a former math teacher) and Stretch Your Imagination for the card base.  I LOVE the cards on Stretch Your Imagination!  I’ll be showing you another one soon!

The patterned paper is from DCWV Hittin’ the Books stack.

Just another couple weeks and school will be out for summer!  Teachers, students, support staff and principals will get a needed break.  Don’t forget to thank a principal!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Principals’ Day 2012

  1. gramjak says:

    Fabulous gift!!! I love the idea and clever way you put it together. Outstanding creativity,Evelyn!
    If you cut any extras, I’d love the school and kids! ( I don’t have Autumn Celebrations and could use a couple of these!!!)

  2. gramjak says:

    Fantastic creativity,Evelyn!
    (I’d love to have a couple of those cuts as I don’t have Autumn Celebrations.) (do you have any extras? they don’t have to be big ones…)

  3. shesasassylady says:

    They are as cute as can be and what a wonderful gift it will make to him! Great idea. TFS

Leave a Reply

