Recycled Christmas cards for 2012 – Round one

I can never throw away things that might be useful, and Christmas cards are no exception.  I love receiving cards every year.  Love getting them, reading them, drooling over them, catching up on people’s lives, updating my address book . . . I especially love cutting them up and re-working them into cards for the next year.   I’m about half-way through my stack of cut-up pieces of 2011 cards plus some leftover clip art that I printed and never did anything with.  Here’s what I have so far:

Reds – The ones on the sides are recycles; the one in the middle uses a leftover 3 x 3 card that I made in bulk for my co-workers.  I used the Candy Cane freebie from Paper Crafting World’s 25 days of Christmas Crafting Fun.

Blues – These three all use clip art.  The one on the left is from Traditional Christmas by pcCrafter. The middle one is from Polar Bear Christmas, also by pcCrafter.  The one on the right features the freebie Snowman digi from PCW’s 25 Days of Christmas Crafting Fun.

Blacks – These are all recycled from 2011 Christmas cards.

Greens – The ones on the sides are both from one recycled Christmas card.  (a two-fer!!)  The middle one is clip art from the aforementioned Traditional Christmas.

The last two include the same rocking horse as above and one recycle.

These go pretty fast.  I made them all in one night.  I brought all my supplies into the living room, set up a card table and got busy making cards while my husband and I watched reruns on TV (appropriate, huh??)

It was very fulfilling to get so much done, and just what I needed because last Saturday didn’t get off to such a great start.   I set out to clean my craft room and find places for all my new Close to My Heart stuff.  I thought I’d put everything I don’t use that often up high (I’m short) and put everything I do use more within reach.  Well, suffice it to say that the shelves on my wall were never meant to hold an entire library of craft books and magazines.  It all came tumbling down in a huge CRASH!  Luckily, nothing was broken, (although the shelf and everything on it landed on my laptop, which suffered a pretty big dent.  Thank goodness for the titanium shell!)  I guess that also explains why I set up shop in the living room!!

All’s well that ends well.  My husband took pity on me and rehung the shelves, making them much more “Evelyn-proof.”  I’m up and running again!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recycled Christmas cards for 2012 – Round one

  1. Kathleen says:

    Careful now… those tall shelves can be dangerous. My husband has put small “L” brackets and attached most of our tall shelves to the wall.

    Great job on re-using all those cards! They look great!

  2. shesasassylady says:

    What a great idea. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

