Spring Song challenge

Welcome to PCW’s Terrific Tuesday Spring Song challenge!  I love song challenges.  There’s so much to choose from!  Our mission was to make a spring-themed project inspired by a song.  The song I chose is Grazin’ in the Grass by Friends of Distinction.  Here is a link to a you tube video (although the video quality is terrible, but you can enjoy the song.)

I pictured a couple walking through a park on a beautiful spring day.  The file I chose to start with is the Kelly and Keegan cutting file.  I flipped Keegan so instead of dancing with Kelly, they’re strolling together and he has his hand on her back.

I was going to make a card with this file, but I didn’t want just a plain card, so I decided to make a scene-kind of card.  Hmmm, what else to add?  The song lyrics gave me lots of ideas:

“What a trip just watchin’ as the world goes past”  So to me, that was someone sitting on a bench.  I used a bench Melin sent me (hopefully available soon on PCW) – two of them welded together – and now I needed someone to sit on it.  Since Kelly and Keegan are bears, I looked through my file for any bears who were sitting down.  I found Bear n Cupcake, but instead of a cupcake, I put a little cub in her lap from Baby Bear on Moon.  Perfect fit!!

“flowers with colors for takin'”  (If you’ll notice, Keegan picked one for Kelly!)

I used the Daisies cutting set for those.

“the sun beamin’ down between the leaves” tells me I need trees and a sun.  I used the Apple Tree, Clouds, Sun, Grass cutting file for the tree on the left (minus the apples) and the smiling sun, and the Leafy Tree for the tree on the right.

“the birds dartin’ in and out of the trees”  You can see them in the above photo.  I cut them so small that I wouldn’t be able to use the beak piece, so what I did in Sure Cuts A Lot was I selected and copy/pasted the bird, highlighted one copy and chose “object, break apart” then “path, union.”  That gave me an outline of the bird, which I cut out in yellow.  Then I pieced the body and wings on top of that, so the yellow beak showed from below.

Well now I had too many pieces for a card, so I decided to make a spring decoration for my foyer table!

I had so much fun making this scene!  Every time I see it, I’ll be reminded of Grazin’ in the Grass.

Be sure to check out how the other designers were inspired, and let us see what song makes you think of spring!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring Song challenge

  1. This is absolutely amazing. I can’t believe all the details. I must try this at some point soon.

  2. Kathleen says:

    Great projects!

  3. Maria Robinson says:

    Really adorable scene. I wonder what it looks like closed, since I’m assuming it’s a card.

    • Evelyn says:

      Hi, Maria,
      Thanks! No, it’s not a card, just a table decoration. I have a narrow, wide table in my front entryway, and this is a decoration for that table!
      Evelyn

  4. Melin says:

    Oh my goodness Evelyn!!!! This project is absolutely FANTASTIC! I love all the detail! It is a true piece of artwork! Thank you for sharing how you used the outline for the “beak”. What a great idea for small pieces! Beautiful job!

    What a bright and beautiful card Mindy! I love the patterned paper choices. Your coloring is FANTASTIC! Thank you for such a wonderful project!

    Melin
    Blog: CookingWithCricut.com
    Shop: PaperCraftingWorld.com

  5. Evelyn this is absolutely stunning. I love how you used so many of Melin’s files and made such a beautiful project. Love the strolling bears you made from Kelly and Keegan and love the little bear on the bench. You are an inspiration to me.

Leave a Reply

