Love is in the Air Blog Hop

A “love song-inspired 3D project!”  Wow, that’s a mouthful!  Christel suggested the theme for this weekend’s blog hop.   If you arrived here from Charlotte’s blog,  A Little Bit of Detail, then you’re right on track!  The hop starts at Cooking With Cricut.  You won’t want to miss any of the projects, so click here to start at the beginning.

A love song-inspired 3D project . . .   Oh, the possibilities!!  So many to choose from!!  With Valentines’ Day coming up I thought I’d make something to give to my students.  I thought of lollipops and remembered the song, My Girl Lollipop.  Do you remember it?  The lyrics are here.  And the lollipops are here:

The flowers are from the Bear With Flower Pot and Scalloped Mat set from Paper Crafting World.  (This is the same set I used on this Welcome Baby mini-album.  For that one I used the bear.)  The flowers are cut at 2.5 inches, and I used Peachy Keen stamps for the faces.

I made a second Love Song-Inspired 3D  project for the hop.  The song is Sugar, Sugar by the Archies.  “You are my candy girl, and you got me wanting you!”  I thought of this song when I saw the Kisses 2 U file from Paper Crafting World.  She’s so pretty!!  I filled a Frappuccino bottle with Hershey kisses.

I couldn’t stop there!  I almost always have a song in my head, and when I was browsing through the files at Paper Crafting World, I saw this adorable Mouse Couple Dancing.  The song that comes to my mind when I saw them is Do You Love Me?  They were just crying out to be put in motion!  I thought about those antenna-type hairbands that you usually see with hearts or other shapes on the end, and thought I’d make my own. 

I wrapped floral wire around a marker to make the springs.

I have a set of acrylic stamps to give away inspired by Donny Osmond’s hit, Puppy Love.  It’s Mr. Cricut Crazy’s Man’s Best Friend Vol. 1.  To be eligible for the drawing, please leave me a comment including a way to get in touch with you.  If you’re a follower, please tell me so in a second comment for a second chance to win.  I’ll announce the winner on next Tuesday’s post (February 14 – Valentine’s Day!)

By the way, this is also a Cooking With Cricut/Paper Crafting World challenge!!  We’d love to see what projects you can come up with that were inspired by love songs.  Link up your project at CookingWithCricut.com. There will be two chances to win a $15 gift certificate to PaperCraftingWorld.com – one for challenge entries and one for just leaving a comment on the Cooking With Cricut blog and being a follower of that blog.

I hope my projects inspired you!  Nita @ Nita’s Notes is next on the lineup!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Love is in the Air Blog Hop

  1. WOW Evelyn! I LOVE your projects!!!! TOO CUTE! How clever to wrap the wire around marker to make your headband! I bet it is a hoot to see Mr. & Mrs. Mouse movin’ and groovin’!!! Thank you for all the great inspiration!!!!

  2. Rebecca W says:

    Very cute projects!

  3. Rebecca W says:

    I just began following you by email.

  4. Too cute, Evelyn! All of these projects are just wonderful — but that headband just makes me smile! We used to call those “dilly boppers” in the 80’s when they first hit the scene. Your students are going to love their happy little Valentine flower pops, too. And what a great way to repurpose an old bottle — that little bear is SO sweet!

    ~ Jen

  5. Michelle R says:

    Oh my WOOOOORD Evelyn!!! I LOVE this! NOW you have put all of these songs into my head!! hahahaha! I love the cute flower lollipops for your class. The bear with hershey kisses is so stinking adorable….THEN…I scroll down to see your mice on the headband…LOVE it all!! So fun! I don’t know you in person, but I definitely see some personality coming through with these projects!! 🙂 What fun!!

    Hugs,
    Michelle

  6. Susan M. says:

    Okay, that’s it. You win the “TOO CUTE!” award.

  7. Charlotte says:

    Eveln,
    What great projects. The flower lollipops are adorable and they look great in tose cute little flower pots. Oh, I am so loving the head band. Love the use of the wiggle wire!
    Charlotte

  8. Court says:

    Wow, Girl! I love all three of your projects! You are so creative!

  9. Court says:

    I am also I follower and I would love to win Tanner’s stamps!

  10. Wow, you really had some fun with this challenge! I agree with the previous posters, SO creative, love how you incorporated the theme into all your projects! new follower 🙂
    Hugs,
    Heather P

  11. kathleen says:

    Very cute!

    missstamper (at) yahoo.com

  12. kathleen says:

    I just signed up to follow your blog!

    missstamper (at) yahoo.com

  13. Great ideas!!! I am going to over to your blog right now and become a follower!!!

  14. Nita says:

    Oooooh, I love all your song choices!! I grew up listening to the “oldies’ (as my mom called them), so these songs are close to my heart. Would you believe I considered doing Sugar, Sugar too? I actually have The Archies original series on DVD (big “nerd” stamp on my forehead, right?). 🙂 LOVE how you interpreted every song – that headband made me smile so big, and the lolliops are pure genius! And, of course, the Hershey’s kiss jar is SUPER. 🙂
    Nita

  15. Jill says:

    OMG! That headband is darling! What a creative idea! I love it! All the treats look so cute! Great job! SMiles, Jill

  16. bonnie cantu says:

    Hi Evelyn

    Again i will say, you are so talented, these projects look like you had a great time making them
    TFS
    Bonnie
    http://scrappersranch.blogspot.com
    scrappersranch @ aol dot com

  17. bonnie cantu says:

    Hey Evelyn

    And to think, I thought I was following you before this!!! LOL.. Well I am now for sure.
    Cant wait to see more amazing projects
    TFS
    Bonnie
    http://scrappersranch.blogspot.com
    scrappersranch @ aol dot com

  18. Madison says:

    You really outdid yourself!! Your projects are awesome. I love the headband. I want to make one!! It is super cute. You just made me smile with your work. TFS!
    ~Madison funkycards.blogspot.com

  19. Paula Bee says:

    You have been busy! Love all your projects, but that dancing mouse headband just takes the cake! It is too cute and I bet it is fun to see those two cuties dancing around!

    Paula Bee
    pbeeman02@gmail.com

  20. Jenny says:

    Such fun fun projects and the songs you picked are totally cool. TFS!

  21. Felicia says:

    Wow, these projects are just fabulous. Great Job!

  22. Rae Ann O. says:

    Your projjects are great. I wanted to be a follower but I don’t want to subscribe. Where is the other ‘follow’ sign-up? I don’t want more posts in my email. The other way, I get them in my dashboard of my blog and that works great for me.
    Rae Ann O.

    • Evelyn says:

      Hi, Rad Ann, Thanks for your comment.
      I’m on WordPress and you’re on Blogspot. That feature you’re describing would only be for other blogs on Blogspot. As far as I know, email is the only way for you to follow me if you don’t have a WordPress blog of your own. I only post 2 – 3 times per week, but if you’d rather not follow, I understand.
      Evelyn

  23. Wow your projects are all amazing and so creative. Love them all!

  24. Patricia C. says:

    What adorable projects. Im a new follower. Thanks for the chance to win.

    Hugs,
    Patty
    creativediva98.blogspot.com
    creativediva98 at gmail dot com

  25. maida says:

    You did an absolutely fantastic job. The flowers turned out so cut.

    marg0006@verizon.net
    Loving Scrapper101

  26. Wow Evelyn your projects are amazing, I love them all but those little headband mice are too cute, what a clever idea! TFS.

    Debbie B.

  27. Jayne says:

    Do you love me? –Wow! Those groovy mice on the darling headband really make me sing that sone (which I love!)! Really super projects, Evelyn! Love all of them!!!

Leave a Reply

