25 Days of Christmas Crafting Fun – Day 10

Happy Day 10 of Christmas Crafting Fun!  Today’s theme is Santa.  There are so many images of St. Nick, I couldn’t settle on just one, so I thought of a way to use many!  I made a concentration game!

I used images from 3 Birds on Parade, A Child’s Year, the Christmas Solutions cartridge that came loaded on my gypsy, Hello Kitty Greetings, and a new file available today from Paper Crafting World called Santa in Chimney (only his head.)  Everything was cut at 2.5 inches except the one from Christmas Solutions.  That one was too wide, so I cut it at 2.0.  I made two of each and mounted them on 3 inch squares of a gorgeous holly paper from Recollections Sugar Plums paper pad.  The papers are thick like card stock, so they make a nice, sturdy base.  The paper works well for two other reasons.  The pattern is random – doesn’t have an obvious up or down; and the back is plain white – not too busy.  I lined that white back with a plain green 2.75 inch square because Santa’s beard is white, and it wouldn’t have stood out the way I would like.  So this is how they turned out:

 

 

 

 

 

You’ll notice that I really need to add two more cards to make that left row even.  My deadline was approaching and I hadn’t constructed a box yet to put the cards in, so I switched my focus to that.  I used the same recipe box file from this post but altered it to be 3.5 inches wide.

Another idea for a concentration game is to use digital stamp images or clip art.  You could make two identical cards of each image as I did for this game, or put the image on just one card and the name of the image on the matching card, like this:

If you’ve been collecting your daily freebies from PCW, you could have a good sized concentration game by the end of the 25 Days of Christmas Crafting Fun event!!  As you may have guessed, the Santa in Chimney digi stamp and cutting files are today’s freebies!

Head on over to Paper Crafting World/Cooking With Cricut to pick yours up.  Don’t forget to enter for your chance to win one of this week’s prizes, and get codes for discounts from our generous sponsors!  One of the prizes is the Freshly Picked cartridge!  There are gift certificates from Paper Crafting World, Cutters Creek and Quick Quotes, embossing folders and dies, bakers’ twine from The Twinery, and other goodies!  Read the rules carefully to be sure you qualify.  Good luck!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 25 Days of Christmas Crafting Fun – Day 10

  1. I played Concentration game when younger and like yours. Like teh way you packaged it.
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”
    http://CreatedbySunshineHoneyBee.blogspot.com

  2. thanks for the santa cut file, cute fella!

Leave a Reply

