A challenge of my own

I have so many Cricut cartridges and svg files that I have bought over the last couple years, I feel like I have over-indulged! and feel a little, tiny bit, guilty about the money spent on them.  Aside from my Robotz cartridge, I don’t feel as if I have explored and/or used any of my collections enough to justify having bought them.  Some, I have never used at all (gasp!!)  So I have come up with a solution.  I typed the name of each cartridge on orange paper and each svg collection on green paper, cut them into little strips and put them into a jar.   On purple paper, I typed project ideas such as bookmark, mini-album, 10 note cards, etc., cut them and put them into a second jar.  My challenge is to pick one paper from each jar and do what it says.  Here’s my first one:

Night Before Christmas svg collection from My Scrap Chick and ten Christmas cards.  Lucky pair!!  It could have been ten Christmas cards using Life is a Beach!!

This is what I came up with.  I am linking it to the Christmas in July post on Memories by Christine’s scrapbooking blog.

I started with the fireplace, but it was too simple; it needed more.  Lots of people make a whole scene on their scrapbook layouts, so that’s what I decided to do on this card.  I made it look like someone’s house.  The candle, present, and rocking horse are from the Joys of the Season cartridge.

Before I went and cut everything out, I wanted to see how it would look.  I opened MS Word and brought in the fireplace jpeg from MyScrapChick’s files.  Then I used the Grab program on my Mac to copy pictures from my cartridge PDF*.  I manipulated them until I liked the placement and then did my cuts in SCAL.  As you can see, I deviated from my original design a little bit.  Those candles are SO SMALL to work with!! and I changed the wreath to a picture frame with a quote from The Night Before Christmas poem.

Off to pick another My Own Challenge!

Evelyn

* Did you know you can download the PDF version of Cricut cartridge handbooks here?  I download lots of them and save them in a file on my computer.  I download the ones that I own so I can look at them anytime on my laptop – don’t have to have the handbook in front of me AND I can see them nice and big.  I also download ones that I think I might like to own.  If I see a sale anywhere, I can see exactly what’s on the cartridge to see if it’s worth buying for that price.

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A challenge of my own

  1. The fireplace is darling! Thank you for linking up to Christmas in July:) I’m glad to have found another fellow scrapbooking blogger:)
    C:)

Leave a Reply

