Christmas minis

This is another Sunshine Committee pick-me-up gift.  It all started when I saw these packs of coasters in Michaels craft store.  I couldn’t resist the price – 30 cents for a pack of eight.  Visions of Christmas mini-albums danced in my head.  I bought all they had.

I convinced one of my fellow Sunshine Committee members that we had to cover both sides of each coaster with Christmas scrapbook paper, and so it began.  We decided five pages would be a good number for each book, times 64 people = 320 coasters!!  It was a good project to occupy my time while watching TV in the evenings.

When all the coasters were covered, it was time to make the books.  We had a week off for Thanksgiving so I brought them all home and got to work.  I started by sorting all the coasters by color and separating them into groups of five, and then started decorating and assembling.  It was slow going at first, but once I got into production-line mode it went a little faster.  I used my Cricut to cut out lots of snowflakes and other shapes; printed some clipart; dug out my Christmas stickers . . .  It was a lot of work and a lot of fun, too.  Each album is unique.

Whew!!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas minis

  1. Lissa Marie says:

    Those are soooo awesome. .30 cents a pack? What section did you find them in?

    • Evelyn says:

      Thanks, Lissa. They were outside in the clearance bins! They look much better now that they’re covered in Christmas paper and decorated. They were pretty ugly to begin with. I guess that’s why they were on clearance!
      Evelyn

Leave a Reply

