It ain’t pretty; it’s my scrap pile!

I have a hard time throwing away perfectly good pieces of paper — even relatively small ones.  I keep them organized, though, so I can get the most use out of them.  Years ago, I bought a sturdy accordion file.  I removed the bottom so that it’s not restricted in how far it opens.  I put my scraps in plastic file folders within the accordion file.  They’re in rainbow order with reds and pinks together.  Blacks, browns, grays, and whites/tans are in the back.

I put the whole thing into one of those milk crate kind of boxes and it sits nearby on a chair in my craft room.  When I’m crafting, I always look to this stash first.  God forbid that I cut a FULL sheet of paper!!  Lots of times, I only need a small piece of paper and can usually I can find what I need in there.  When I make an entire project out of scraps, I feel so accomplished!  Using scraps first also keeps my scrap pile at a manageable size.

Last year at Christmastime, I made a project using paper from My Mind’s Eye Wonderful Winter glittered holiday paper pack.  I had these small pieces of Christmas tree paper and striped paper left over.   A few months ago, I glued the striped papers to the Christmas tree paper, thinking maybe I would make tiny photo albums from them.  Yesterday, while looking through my scrap pile, I noticed that the white/tan section was getting a little bulky.  I decided to cut white and tan papers the same size as the leftover glittered holiday papers and make tiny notepads instead.  They turned out real cute!!  The whole project was made using leftover scraps of paper.

I feel so frugal!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

