Uncle Nick

My husband’s Uncle Nick died about a year ago.  He was an Italian-American World War II vet who had an amazing garden, loved boxing, and made his own wine.  I wanted to make a table decoration for his memorial luncheon that honored him, and I came up with this:

P1060155webI can’t even begin to tell you where some of these files came from, but the army files were from Miss Kate’s Cuttables, the gardening things were from the Freshly Picked Cricut cartridge, and Italy may have been from the Lettering Delights European Countries Simple Shapes.  I think the boxing things were from a Google search and converted to a cutting file with SCAL, but I have no idea about the wine bottle or wine glass.

P1060156web

P1060157webP1060158webI gave it two folds so it would fold up flat for storing, but would stand up for display.  I like the idea of making something that shows different parts of people’s lives or personalities, and this seemed simple enough to tell a story succinctly.  People could look at it and conjure their own memories connected to each part.  It was well-received.

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uncle Nick

  1. Jayne says:

    Evelyn– this is a wonderful visual for a Memorial service/luncheon. I have done something similar but this is utterly fabulous. Great creativity, as always!

  2. katie brooks says:

    What a cool think for your Uncle, one look gives you a little more of a look into this man’s life than many other things would. Sorry for your and your husbands loss. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

