Laughing Lola cardmaking kit

I recently made the cards from the Laughing Lola Cardmaking Kit.   Purple is not really a color that I like, but I really liked the paisley print that was included with this set so I took a gamble and challenged myself.  (Besides, I was planning to take a trip and I like to have something to do in the hotel room!)

This is how they turned out:

P1070110webI really like the bright colors on this one!

P1070112webI also like this one very much.  Love that little “splatter!”

P1070114awebThis one was my least favorite.

I followed the directions exactly on this set.  Before I left home, I cut the papers to the correct size according to the included diagram and made the cuts from the Artiste Cricut cartridge.  At the hotel, I did the distressing, stamping and assembling.

After I was finished, I looked at all the cards to evaluate my work.  I really liked those first two, but I didn’t like that third one.  It looked gaudy to me.  I didn’t like the “thinking of you” stamp, the distressing, or the placement of the purple gems.  So except for one, I took them all apart to re-do.  Since I was out of town, I checked out the local Michaels and had bought some paper on clearance.  :)  This is how the re-worked cards turned out:

P1070115webP1070116webP1070117webP1070118webThey’re a combination of the Laughing Lola papers and the papers I picked up at Michaels.

But, I was still not finished with this cardmaking kit!  One really cool thing about the CTMH cardmaking kits is that they come with diagrams that show you exactly how to cut the papers so you get the most for your money.  And when you finish making the cards that came in the kit, you still have the directions and can make more using any paper you have!  When I got home, I decided to make some Christmas cards using the same layouts.

For these cards, I used the Sparkle and Shine paper packet, along with Peppermint Stick Trendy Twine, a Martha Stewart snowflake punch, and some CTMH sparkles (that I think are retired.)  Here are my Christmas cards:

P1070111webThe cardinal is from Winter Woodland Cricut cartridge. The stamps are from Unity Stamp Company.

P1070071webP1070114webThe HoHoHo and bird is from CTMH Perfect Fit Holidays set, and the other two are from the Laughing Lola cardmaking workshop.  I’m really pleased with how they turned out!

Here’s a hint about stamping on those Cricut cuts.  I really had a hard time centering them on the cuts, so for the Christmas set, I stamped before removing them from the mat:

P1070120webP1070121webMuch better!!

So, bottom line(s) — the workshops are worth the price!  You get materials to make 15 cards, you get the envelopes, you get the directions to keep and you get all the stamps to add to your collection (!)

stamp setAfter making this kit, I have plenty of purple gems left over plus a little bit of that scrumptious black and gray twine!  And if you’re not in love with the result, you can re-work them and make them your own.

If you don’t already have a Close to My Heart consultant and you’d like to order any of these items, I’d be happy to be your consultant!  Here is a link to my online site.  If you have any questions, my email is evelynholmberg @ mindspring dot com.

Thanks for reading this long post!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laughing Lola cardmaking kit

  1. These are all fabulous!!!! You really got your monies worth with the first kit and then continuing the idea with a Christmas theme. I love purple but not obsessed to the point of being sick of it. Loving your cards. Now to go enter my project in the challenge.

  2. I love ALL you cards, and admire the work you have put into them. My favorite is the little red cardinal! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Katie Brooks says:

    Look at all of these, you are busy! I love the happy/cheer up set, great colors. The holiday ones are fab too!!!!

Leave a Reply

