Hanukkah cards

Dreidel0WebHanukkah begins November 27th this year, and I’ll be on Thanksgiving break, so I needed to make two cards a little ahead of time.

I saw this beautiful Hanukkah card online and knew I wanted to CASE it.  I love the simplicity of the dreidel outline and the beauty of the papers.  Plus, I wanted to try a new technique that just looks AWESOME!  It’s called iris folding because it resembles a camera’s iris that opens and closes to let light in (just like your eye!)  I followed this very easy tutorial here and used this pattern.

These cards came together very quickly.  They’re also very thick because of all the folded paper!  Dreidel2WebDreidel1WebI downloaded the pattern, brought it into Sure Cuts A Lot and cut it out at 4 inches. Then I printed the pattern out at four inches to place behind my cut-out to follow the pattern, added the button and twine.

All the papers are scraps, the button is from my stash.  This iris folding technique is a great way to use your scraps.  I’m hoping to make some Christmas cards using this technique.  You really get a stunning effect for very easy technique!  The twine in In the Navy Trendy Twine. 

Dreidel4Web Dreidel3Web

I have fond memories of playing dreidel and eating latkes in elementary school.  We also learned a few Hanukkah songs that I still remember.  I really love to sing!

Happy Hanukkah to all those who celebrate!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hanukkah cards

  1. This is gorgeous! Oh My!!! I’ve seen this fold but have not yet tried it. The dreidel is perfect for this. Beautiful job of casing. I have a neighbor who this would be perfect for. Now only to find the time. I did not know about your husband and hope things are getting back to regular speed. So busy and feel terrible that I have not been able to keep up with blog friends.

  2. I love your cards! I have not tried iris folding yet, but I plan to soon. I love the blues you used, very very nice!

  3. Migdalia says:

    This is a BEAUTY!!!! Love it!!

Leave a Reply

