Bloom, grow, soar!

The idea of recycling toilet paper rolls to make something pretty has intrigued me, so I started saving them.  I’ve seen lots of examples of toilet paper roll mini-albums, but the one that made me want to try it was this one.  I loved the black and white look of it, and the flaps that cover the open ends so the tags don’t fall out.

When I was making my uncle’s get well card, I played around a little with the Freshly Picked cartridge and so I had this cute little window box full of flowers just sitting on my desk along with the word, “bloom.”  It looked like the perfect size to go on a toilet paper roll.

First I made the closures using a tag from Cre8tive Cutz.  I scored the tags and adhered one to each TP roll.

 

Next I covered them with paper cut to 5 3/8 by 4 1/8.

All I needed now were the tags to go inside.  I found them in my files.  (Someone made them and gave them for free, but their name is not on them, so I can’t give credit for them.)  There was one with a flower, one with just leaves, and one with a butterfly.  I already had the word “bloom” cut out from Freshly Picked and thought it would go nicely with the flower tag.  I looked for more words on that cartridge and found “grow,” which I used for the leaf tag.  That left the butterfly.  There really were no words that matched the butterfly on that cartridge, so I used “soar” from Lacy Labels, along with a mat from that cartridge.

I only wanted three O-rings to close this little album, but when I inserted it into the Bind-it-All, it was going to make four and a half!  So I used my Crop-o-dile to make three holes a half-inch apart, then bound it with the Bind-it-All.  I think it turned out cute, although I still have to add velcro dots to keep the closures closed.!

This is my 99th post!  Tomorrow is my Blog-versary!  Please stop back for a little celebration and a little give-away raffle!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bloom, grow, soar!

  1. These are so cool! Who would have thought that lowly toilet paper tubes could become such chic containers? :)

Leave a Reply

