Cookie Monster thank you card

I made a Cookie Monster for a card a few weeks ago.  (The file was a freebie from Short ‘n Scrappy.)  The monster turned out real cute.  I set him aside while I thought of what I wanted the card to look like.  Well, I need the card tomorrow, so there was no more procrastination!  Try as I might, I couldn’t find paper to make a card to go with him.  I struggle with color!  I found a beautiful paper from Amanda Blu that I thought would look great.  It was dark brown with blue stripes and little red flowers.  I thought it would be perfect! The brown looked like chocolate chips, the blue matched Cookie Monster’s fur, and the red matched the heart.  So I cut the precious paper and started to put the card together.  Well, the pattern was too busy.  It looked terrible.  I put it down to sulk awhile. 

Then I remembered that I have a color wheel.  It told me that yellow would work, and that makes sense to me since red, yellow, and blue are the primary colors.  So I went through my papers and picked out (AND CUT) a nice yellow.  When I tried it, it was too bold.  Now I had TWO pieces of paper needlessly cut.  I looked through all my scraps and finally found this gingham check.  It did the trick — not too bright and overwhelming.  I think it looks great!  What do you think?

I sure wish colors weren’t such a challenge for me . . .

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookie Monster thank you card

  1. I’m sorry you were frustrated, but your final product looks wonderful! I think the yellow gingham check is perfect!

Leave a Reply

