Summer bulletin board

This all started with the little bird with the umbrella.  Remember the April Showers Bring May Flowers bulletin board?  This little guy was supposed to be for that bulletin board, but I couldn’t get the colors to match.  So I changed directions for that one and saved the bird.  He was too cute NOT to use, so I built the new bulletin board around him.

I wanted to show activities that people do in the summertime.  One thing my sister and I used to do was walk around outside during summer rainstorms and get soaking wet.  Anyway, I found four additional birds I could use on the 3 Birds on Parade cartridge.          I made sure to use the same colors for each this time so everything would match.  (Of course, now that I’m looking at the picture of the bulletin board, I’m noticing that he has a shadow and the four others don’t!!  Oh, well . . . so much for consistency! )

I downloaded the body-board border last year and didn’t keep a record of where I got it.  It’s certainly not my creation.  As always, if you recognize it please let me know who created it so I can link back to their blog.  Ditto the Summer Time title.

I knew I wanted to add either one poem or several about summer and I had a few good candidates.  I like poems that are easy to understand, and this one fit the bill.  The other good thing about it is it’s short, and the entire thing fits around the bulletin board.  Best of all, the poem is written by the author of my all-time favorite poem, Hiawatha’s Childhood — Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.   When I was a Girl Scout, this poem was in our Junior Handbook.  I loved reciting it; I loved the cadence of it.  I recited it so often that I had it memorized in its entirety (long since forgotten.)

Only five more weeks until summer vacation!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Summer bulletin board

  1. Monika in VA says:

    Adorable! Love those birdies!

  2. Marian Mattice says:

    When I was a Junior Girl Scout, my favorite poem was Hiawatha’s Childhood and I memorized it also. I still know some parts of it! I am now involved in Girl Scouts as an adult volunteer and might be a Daisy Troop Leader next fall!

    • Evelyn says:

      Hi, Marian,
      I was a Girl Scout volunteer for many years as a leader, council delegate, consultant, trainer and service unit director! I learned so much as an adult Girl Scout, and loved every crazy, busy minute of it!
      Evelyn

Leave a Reply

